College Transfer Programs

Students who intend to transfer to a four-year college or university should complete one of the following degrees:

  1. An Associate in Arts (A.A.) Degree (A10100) which emphasizes the liberal arts,
  2. An Associate in Engineering (A.E.) Degree (A10500) which emphasizes engineering technology,
  3. An Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.) Degree in Music (A10700) which emphasizes music.
  4. An Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.) Degree in Theatre (A10800) which emphasizes theatre.
  5. An Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.) Degree in Visual Arts (A10600) which emphasizes art.
  6. An Associate in Science (A.S.) Degree (A10400) which emphasizes science and mathematics,

Admission to a Transfer Program

New students wishing to enter a transfer program can visit the "Get Started" page at Current students wishing to enter a transfer program should meet with a transfer advisor at the Transfer Resource Center.

General Requirements

Students must complete a minimum of 60 semester hours of transfer courses including the required general education courses. A minimum of 21 semester credit hours must be earned at CPCC.

General Education Goals

See CPCC General Education Goals for College-Level Programs for Core Competencies and approved general education courses for an Associate in Arts Degree.

Transfer Articulation Agreement

The Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (CAA) is a statewide contract between the North Carolina Community College System and the North Carolina State University System. This agreement enables students to complete lower division general education requirements at the community college and meet respective four-year college or university equivalents by doing so.

Important Guidelines from the CAA
The CAA assures admission to one of the 16 UNC institutions with the following stipulations:

  • Admission is not assured to a specific campus or specific program or major.
  • Students must meet all requirements of the CAA.
  • Students must have an overall grade point average (GPA) of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale, as calculated by the college from which they graduated, and a grade of “C” or better in all CAA courses.
  • Students must be academically eligible for re-admission to the last institution attended.
  • Students must meet judicial requirements of the institution to which they apply.
  • Students must meet all application requirements at the receiving institution including the submission of all required documentation by stated deadlines.

The AA and AS degree programs of study are structured to include two components:

  1. Universal General Education Transfer Component comprises a minimum of 30 semester hours of credit, and
  2. Additional general education, pre-major, and elective courses that prepare students for successful transfer into selected majors at UNC institutions which bring the total number of hours in the degree programs to 60-61 semester hours.

To ensure maximum transferability of credits, students should select a transfer major and preferred transfer university before completing 30 semester hours of credit. Additional general education, pre-major, and elective courses should be selected based on a student’s intended major and transfer institution. (For additional information, students should check with the college or university to which they plan to transfer, or with a CPCC transfer advisor.)

Community college graduates of these programs who have earned 60 semester hours in approved transfer courses with a grade of “C” or better and an overall GPA of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale will receive at least 60 semester hours of academic credit upon admission to a university. Requirements for admission to some major programs may require additional pre-specialty courses beyond the courses taken at the community college. Students entering such programs may need more than two academic years of course work to complete the baccalaureate degree, depending on requirements of the program.

Public North Carolina Universities

  • Appalachian State University
  • East Carolina University
  • Elizabeth City State University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
  • North Carolina Central University
  • North Carolina State University
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • University of North Carolina at Pembroke
  • University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Western Carolina University
  • Winston-Salem State University

Independent Colleges and Universities

  • Barton College
  • Belmont Abby College
  • Bennett College
  • Brevard College
  • Campbell University
  • Catawba College
  • Chowan College
  • Gardner-Webb University
  • Johnson C. Smith University
  • Lees-McRae College
  • Livingstone College
  • Louisburg College
  • Mars Hill College
  • Montreat College
  • Mount Olive College
  • NorthCarolina Wesleyan College
  • Peace College
  • Pfeiffer University
  • Queens University of Charlotte
  • St. Andrews Presbyterian College
  • Saint Augustine’s College
  • Shaw University
  • Warren Wilson College
  • Wingate University