Tuition and Fees
Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.
NOTE: Registration automatically is canceled if payment is not made by the published due dates for the following:
- required fees (student publications/activity fees, technology fees, lab fees and CAPS fees)
- optional student accident and student professional liability insurance fees
- GED Testing fees
Cash, check, or credit cards (MasterCard, American Express, Visa, or Discover Card) are accepted.
Tuition Rates for In-State students
Fewer than 16 semester hours: $76 per credit hour.
16 semester hours or more: $1,216 per semester.
High School Diploma or High School Equivalency Courses
No tuition or fee.
Tuition Rates for Out-of-State students
Fewer than 16 semester hours: $268 per credit hour.
16 semester hours or more: $4,288 per semester.
High School Diploma or High School Equivalency Courses
No tuition or fee.
North Carolina Residence Status
For students enrolling in college curriculum classes, an initial residence classification is made upon application to the College. It is the student’s responsibility to supply documenting evidence of residence status if requested. No one item or combination of items can be considered the determining factor(s) in residence classification. The decision is based on the preponderance of the evidence presented.
A legal resident of North Carolina is one who has domicile (as opposed to temporary abode) in the State; however, the definition of residence status, for tuition purposes, includes other elements such as duration of residence. To be considered eligible for in-state status, one first must be eligible to establish legal residence and have maintained such residence for at least 12 consecutive months immediately prior to the start of the term for which the in-state benefit is sought.
One or more of the following may be applicable:
- Legal residence of minors (under 18 years of age) is that of the parents, surviving parent or legal guardian.
- Residence status of foreign nationals is reviewed first in light of immigration documentation. Some visas do not confer eligibility to establish legal residence.
- Documenting evidence that legal residence has been established and maintained for 12 months prior to the start of the term is required as well.
- Persons holding Alien Registration Receipt Cards (Form I-551) and others holding certain work visas may be eligible to apply for in-state status.
Ownership of property in or payment of taxes to the State of North Carolina will not, in itself, qualify a person for in-state tuition status. It is the responsibility of the student to inform the College if North Carolina residence is lost or abandoned while enrolled.
NOTE: The out-of-state tuition rate is charged automatically to students for whom North Carolina residence has not been established.
Students who think that they have been classified incorrectly or those initially classified as out-of-state who think they now meet the requirements for in-state status should contact Registration Services at any Central Piedmont Community College campus to initiate a review of status.
Information provided here is not intended to be comprehensive; however, the State Policy Manual is available for review at all CPCC Campus Registration Centers. Residence policy is based on North Carolina General Statute 116-143.1.
Applied Music Study Fee
A fee of $200 is charged for music classes.
Campus Access Parking and Security (CAPS) Fee
The Campus Access, Parking and Security Fee (CAPS Fee) is charged to curriculum and Corporate and Continuing Education students who attend classes at any College campus. Revenues collected from this fee are used to pay costs of campus security and parking lot rental and maintenance at all CPCC campuses and centers.
The CAPS fee is
$73 per semester for curriculum students enrolled in eight semester hours or less
$97 per semester for curriculum students enrolled in nine semester hours or more
$12 per class for Corporate and Continuing Education students.
For details about the CAPS fee, visit the website at cpcc.edu/caps_fee.
Corporate and Continuing Education
Fees are published per class.
A fee of $50 per class is charged only for forensics classes.
GED and High School Equivalency Tests
The GED (General Educational Development) Test consists of four sub-tests for $80 or $20 per sub-test.
The HiSET (High School Equivalency Test) contains five sub-tests for $50 or $15 per sub-test.
Curriculum Lab Fees: $21 per lab hour with $168 maximum. (subject to change)
Occupational Extension Lab Fees: $21 per lab with $168 maximum.
Student Publications/Activity Fee
$26 per semester for 1 to 8 credit hours.
$35 per semester for 9 or more credit hours.
Maximum fee is $35 per semester.
The Student Publications/Activity Fee is used to support the Student Life Center and many co-curricular and extra-curricular programs. Among these are student government, student publications, clubs and organizations, intramural sports, educational activities, speakers and entertainers of various kinds.
A technology fee of $48 is charged per term for Curriculum classes, and a technology fee of $5 is charged for Occupational Extension classes.
Returned Check Policy
All returned checks are subject to a processing fee of $25. This fee also applies to credit card payments not accepted and returned by a financial institution. This fee, along with the original amount of the check or credit card, is due within five (5) business days after official notification from the College. These amounts are payable only by cash or money order at the Cashiering/Business Office on any campus. A hold is placed on all student records until acceptable payment is received.
The North Carolina Community College System establishes the refund policy which is subject to change.
- All curriculum student refunds are issued to students' BankMobile debit cards or to the credit card used for the tuition payment.
- All tuition is automatically refunded for any class cancelled by the College.
Corporate and Continuing Education and Occupational Extension Classes
- All tuition is automatically refunded by the College for any class cancelled by the College.
- A 100 percent refund of tuition is paid by the College to students who officially withdraw from class prior to the first day of the class.
- A 75 percent refund of tuition is paid by the College to student who officially withdraw from class on or after the first day of the class through the 10 percent point of the class.
Self-Supporting Course Refunds / Cancellations / No Shows
The College reserves the right to cancel classes at any time without prior notice. Tuition is refunded 100 percent for any class canceled by the College.
Students who cancel registration at least seven (7) business days prior to the start date of the class are eligible for a full refund. After that, cancellations are subject to the entire class fee. NOTE: Students who do not cancel and do not attend are still responsible for payment.
Sponsored students must submit a letter of authorization to bill along with their registration information to the Sponsored Programs office or to any Cashiering/Business Office on a CPCC campus before they register, but no later than the same day they register for classes. For further information, visit the website at cpcc.edu/sponsored-programs or call the Sponsored Programs office at 704.330.4262.
Insurance coverage is available to students through CPCC at cpcc.edu/enterprise-risk-management/student-insurance-1
Student Accident Insurance Plan
Student Accident Insurance is required for specific classes and is paid for at the time of registration. The CPCC Soccer Club is considered a specific-covered class. The plan insures students against loss resulting from accidental bodily injury sustained while participating in or attending specific classes. For detailed, current coverage information, visit the website above. For more information contact the office of Enterprise Risk Management at 704.330.4472.
Medical Hospitalization Group Plan
The plan is available to students enrolled for six or more credit hours. The group plan offers several benefit options, depending on the needs of the student.
Premiums vary per term or year, depending on the selected coverage and payment schedule. Spouses and unmarried children may be covered for an additional fee. Plans are a direct relationship between the student and the insurance provider. Qualified students may contact the insurance provider directly through the website above.